Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: [FIXED] Joomla User data type not working

Joomla User data type not working 18 May 2015 11:07 #13063

  • MorganL
  • MorganL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 438
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 16
I have a field type of JOOMLA USER (from the wizard) and since the new builder this is not working

If you drag this field into a form (as a dropdown select list) it appears as an empty text field when you run the form itself.

If you tick AJAX LOADING, the list of users appears, but does not save so the list loses its value

This can be replicated 100% in any project, no errors are showing in dev console in Chrome

Here is the code output for the AJAX enabled Joomla User
<div class="controls">
			
<div id="_ajax_thirdusers_select1"><div class="ajaxchain-filter ajaxchain-filter-hz"><select id="__ajx_account" name="__ajx_account" onchange="jQuery(&quot;#jform_account&quot;).val(this.value);">
	<option value="">- User -</option>
	<option value="">Mr. Guest</option>
	<option value="">Mrs. Publisher</option>
	<option value="">Mr. Editor</option>
	<option value="">Mr. Registered</option>
	<option value="">Mrs. Author</option>
	<option value="">Mr. Admin</option>
	<option value="">Miss. Manager</option>
	<option value="">Miss. Customer</option>
	<option value="">Mr. Super User</option>
</select>

</div></div>

<input type="hidden" id="jform_account" name="jform[account]" value="">		</div>

and here is the generated code for a Joomla user select box without ajax loading ticked
<div class="control-group field-jform_joomla">
		<div class="control-label">
			<label id="jform_joomla-lbl" for="jform_joomla" class="">My Joomla user &gt; Name</label>		</div>
	
	    <div class="controls">
			<input type="text" id="jform_joomla" name="jform[joomla]" value="0" size="32" style="cursor: auto; background-image: url(data:image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAABAAAAAQCAYAAAAf8/9hAAABHklEQVQ4EaVTO26DQBD1ohQWaS2lg9JybZ+AK7hNwx2oIoVf4UPQ0Lj1FdKktevIpel8AKNUkDcWMxpgSaIEaTVv3sx7uztiTdu2s/98DywOw3Dued4Who/M2aIx5lZV1aEsy0+qiwHELyi+Ytl0PQ69SxAxkWIA4RMRTdNsKE59juMcuZd6xIAFeZ6fGCdJ8kY4y7KAuTRNGd7jyEBXsdOPE3a0QGPsniOnnYMO67LgSQN9T41F2QGrQRRFCwyzoIF2qyBuKKbcOgPXdVeY9rMWgNsjf9ccYesJhk3f5dYT1HX9gR0LLQR30TnjkUEcx2uIuS4RnI+aj6sJR0AM8AaumPaM/rRehyWhXqbFAA9kh3/8/NvHxAYGAsZ/il8IalkCLBfNVAAAAABJRU5ErkJggg==); background-attachment: scroll; background-position: 100% 50%; background-repeat: no-repeat;">

		</div>
	</div>

not even trying to be a select box
Morgan Leecy MCSE

Novell / Linux
PHP. MYSQL, Apache, node.js
Coldfusion, JQuery, HTML5
Joomla
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 18 May 2015 13:16 #13067

  • Romkabouter
  • Romkabouter's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Elite Member
  • Posts: 310
  • Thank you received: 131
  • Karma: 48
I have create a Joomla User wizard: Works corectly in my test project in Sandbox 3.2, but not on livesite 3.4
For admin: PTL = Rittenregistratie,Voertuigen,Voertuig
Last Edit: 18 May 2015 13:17 by Romkabouter.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 18 May 2015 21:53 #13081

  • MorganL
  • MorganL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 438
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 16
I deleted my view and recreated, and all of a sudden everything just worked and the user field was selecting and storing th info. I completed the view and then all of a sudden it stopped working again and now I cant get it working again.

As foreign key type fields now only work with ajax loading, this has become a show stopper for me as there is no actual work around

Project : RT Callout
Table : managers
View : Manager
Morgan Leecy MCSE

Novell / Linux
PHP. MYSQL, Apache, node.js
Coldfusion, JQuery, HTML5
Joomla
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 18 May 2015 21:57 #13082

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 984
  • Karma: 140
Well, I am looking after that.

For the moment I can see the problem with ajax.

see in thirduser model, the 'id' field is missing in prepareQuery(). I should also reduce a little bit those models.

Note that this rewrite has not changed the generated code. Only few improvements for the moment.

For me the normal FK is working in form. Cannot reproduce.
Only Ajax is problematic because it uses its own model for users.

I will have a look soon.
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: MorganL

Joomla User data type not working 18 May 2015 22:02 #13084

  • MorganL
  • MorganL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 438
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 16
The non-ajax dropdowns based on FK are working for you?I just get blank input fields (in sandbox)

I just tried to build in 2.6.5 and got

JInstaller: :Install: Error SQL DB function reports no errors
Component Install: SQL error file DB function reports no errors
Component Install: SQL error file DB function reports no errors

an error... reporting no errors.. WIERD! =)
Morgan Leecy MCSE

Novell / Linux
PHP. MYSQL, Apache, node.js
Coldfusion, JQuery, HTML5
Joomla
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 09:56 #13092

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 984
  • Karma: 140
Lol, It is a Joomla error. Yes it is wierd...

It means that Joomla is not able to report the name/description of the errors, but there was.

In this case you mention I found and fixed one issue.
It was for a single quote in one one more table name.
But in your case it might be something else.

I am so sorry for all this collateral bugs. It was predictable because there are so many possible ways...

Well.
For Ajax, I have to fix it.

For Simple FK it is working for me.

Now I try your project RT Callout. And I tell you...
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 10:00 #13093

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 984
  • Karma: 140
Your project is working.

I can see the combos in Manager item form (both sandbox 3.2 and local install 3.4)
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 10:36 #13096

  • MorganL
  • MorganL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 438
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 16
um.. i hate to be the fly in the ointment, its still not working for me?

I have tried in cleared down chrome and firefox

I have tried ajax loading (doesnt save, always resets)
I have tried without ajax loading (still appears as just an input box)

I have flushed my dataset and tried in sandbox 3.2

I have tried on the edge 2.7, and stable 2.7

I have tried RT Callout and RT Callout Original

I have tried creating a new ITEM view, same thing?
Morgan Leecy MCSE

Novell / Linux
PHP. MYSQL, Apache, node.js
Coldfusion, JQuery, HTML5
Joomla
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 12:13 #13099

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 984
  • Karma: 140
Don't worry... You are helping me a lot, you can't imagine.

You can detect things I never had, it is so precious. Can't you see you karma raising ?
I also feel uncomfortable with those instabilities. It is my fault not yours.

Ajax is now fixed.

For the normal FK, can you please open your files and look in XML file of the problematic Form. Check the field type.
Check also the view function to see if model is loaded.

Do you have a fork somewhere ?

If you still have this problem, then tell me precisely which PTL to look after. I will download it and step by step, file by file we gonna find the problem.
It cannot be a browser problem.
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: MorganL

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 12:53 #13105

  • MorganL
  • MorganL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 438
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 16
I will test in a moment. Forks are not the issue as I have not left Sandbox for the callout project.

Will test within the hour
Morgan Leecy MCSE

Novell / Linux
PHP. MYSQL, Apache, node.js
Coldfusion, JQuery, HTML5
Joomla
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 13:00 #13107

  • MorganL
  • MorganL's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Platinum Member
  • Posts: 438
  • Thank you received: 53
  • Karma: 16
Appears to work fine now!

This has however worked in the the last few days, so don't be surprised if the ticket reappears at some point. I like breaking things!
Morgan Leecy MCSE

Novell / Linux
PHP. MYSQL, Apache, node.js
Coldfusion, JQuery, HTML5
Joomla
The administrator has disabled public write access.
The following user(s) said Thank You: admin

Joomla User data type not working 19 May 2015 13:04 #13108

  • admin
  • admin's Avatar
  • Offline
  • Administrator
  • Chef
  • Posts: 3711
  • Thank you received: 984
  • Karma: 140
Perfect.
Coding is now a piece of cake
The administrator has disabled public write access.
Time to create page: 0.121 seconds

Get Started