Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: [FIXED] I want users to only see records they created

I want users to only see records they created 03 Sep 2013 01:31 #10947

• Collins
I have created a project where users can add records to a list. I dont want them to see other people's entries.
Is it possible to stop users from viewing records they did not author?

Do I need a fork for that?
Last Edit: 03 Sep 2013 01:32 by Collins.
The administrator has disabled public write access.

I want users to only see records they created 03 Sep 2013 21:20 #10963

• Collins
In another post I see someone trying to filter what shows in the grid and the cook wrote:

"Now you need now to add some lines in your Proyectos model (list model) function : prepareQuery()
Add a filter, based on the same you can find in Proj_usario for created_by key. "

I am a total newbie to both cook and PHP, but I am familiar with SQL and other programming langueages. I just want to understand. Does this mean I should fork the project and find a function called something like list_model and in there I will be able to insert a query using a PHP function called "prepareQuery()". I had assumed I would be able to insert queries into cook and not need to get into PHP yet, but if I need to I can learn to do what I need to do.

I have read all the docs, but they don't seem to say anything about this.
I just need someone to point me in the right direction.

I want users to only see records they created 04 Sep 2013 16:00 #10966

• BTB300
  • Thank you received: 130
Its now available when creating menu item - no need to fork

Create collection layout (view)
In the filter brick of the collection layout
- drop a combo filter in there
- drop the user field in the combo filter

when creating a Joomla menu item
the option to filter by a specific user is on the right hand side and Admin has kindly also made a filter by current user button as well